According to this Washington Post article, Warner Bros. as well as other Hollywood studios have begun responding to the shooting in Colorado at the midnight premiere of The Dark Knight Rises. They pledged to stop box office reporting through the opening weekend (although I have a feeling this is as much to protect the film’s reception as to show sensitivity) and also scrambled to pull the trailer for The Gangster Squad, an upcoming film starring Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, because it contains a clip of people shooting into a movie theater from behind the screen.

There have also been rumors that the release of this new film may be delayed – at the very least, it’s going to be severely re-cut – in light of what has passed. I think it would be completely unacceptable to keep that particular scene in the movie, but still, I’m relieved and supportive of the way Hollywood has reacted. As much as I love movies, I’ve never trusted the intentions of Hollywood itself, and this time I’m glad to be proven wrong. There is a soul somewhere in there after all. That movie is set in the 1940’s/50’s and refusing to put it into the current cultural context would have been the easy way out, but from what I see so far that’s not how it’s gonna go down.

Batman director Chris Nolan made a comment that I found particularly touching…”The movie theater is my home, and the idea that someone would violate that innocent and hopeful place in such an unbearably savage way is devastating to me.” Well said, as always, and I feel the same way.

I went to see The Dark Knight Rises with my family earlier today anyway, and I thought about writing a review, but I don’t feel like it right now. I’m still too sad about what happened. I just wanted to share this to show that for all the shallow materialism, profit-centric behavior and mindless decadence, Hollywood is as capable of a moment of silence as the rest of us.

