Once upon a time, people said mobile payment was going to be the next big thing. Well, the time has come when it is THE big thing, and the battle is between Google and Ebay (PayPal).

Google is becoming like the glitter of all technology. It gets everywhere. It got into social networking with Orkut and then Google+, the mobile market with Android (whom they purchased in 2005), and I can’t even name everything else. All I know is, you could probably put together my life story since I turned 15 by looking at everything I’ve done that somehow goes through Google.

That’s why I’m not keen on giving them my financial information as well.

For a while, I didn’t want that particular information floating around on the internet at all. My parents even started using PayPal before I did. I finally ended up giving in just last year, because it’s been around for long enough without any major damage for me to finally start trusting it. In contrast, Google Wallet is, like, one year old.

I know, I know…Google itself has been around long enough that I can’t imagine my life without it, and their Wallet’s rate of expansion is a pretty convincing argument to get on that boat. And don’t get me wrong, I love Google. Google Maps > everything else ever. But dang, talk about too many eggs in one basket. The last time this much of my life was in one online place was when I started using Facebook, and look how well it turned out (don’t worry Zuck, you’ll have another post all to yourself later).

Another pro for PayPal is that it does what it says it will do and leaves it there. It’s clean, simple, and gets the job done in the most efficient way possible. No frills, none of the fancy-pants add-ons Google keeps insisting upon. Seriously, every time I log in to Google it seems like there’s some kind of update for something or other. Google Docs will soon be upgraded to Google Drive. Google Calendar now has some ostentatious new way to dress up your events and invitations. Their innovation is inspiring, I depend on it and I wouldn’t trade it for the world, but as far as my money’s concerned, I’d rather know exactly what I’m gonna get. Of course PayPal will have to become “new and improved” just as often in order to stay competitive and keep things exciting for the hackers, but I’m less scared of them making promises they can’t keep than Google.

The worst part, though, is you can’t use Google Wallet unless you have an NFC-enabled phone (whatever that means), which only Sprint seems to work with at the moment. I’m sure that’s going to change real fast – I’d imagine much of Silicon Valley is eager to jump on this opportunity, which basically guarantees that the technology will become available soon – but still, it just reinforces my earlier point of PayPal being more user-friendly. You don’t have to have a certain service provider or cell phone model to use PayPal. If you have any kind of phone that can download and use apps, chances are you’re good to go. That goes a long way in my book.

But all said and done, I still want Google Wallet to have a significant presence. I don’t want PayPal to become complacent, because I feel like they could get too big for their britches just as fast as Google. PayPal announced in May that it is now working with 15 new national retailers and they’re just warming up, but, well…it’s Google. I really want to see what they’ll do.

