There is so little I like about any of the characters or their situations that I don’t even know if I want to finish it.

These people are awful. In so many different ways. The one who I think is least awful as of page 137 is a teenager who smokes like a chimney, is in near constant trouble at school for everything one might imagine, slapped her mother across the face, and has yet to express her liking for another person in any way other than by stealing things that belong to him/her.

The best part, though, is that this is the kind of book where the characters you hate and…well, hate the least, will change probably every time you read it. I love Jo’s ability to do that. Who says this book doesn’t have any magic in it?

Real talk…not even The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo gave me this many doubts about finishing it, and that is a terrifying book to read. Especially at night. Alone.

…*Awkward face as I pick The Casual Vacancy up again*…

